Posted by: bwoof | April 2, 2016

Grad school — the ‘aha’ moments

doorsGrad school is like being a small room lined with at least a dozen closed doors.

One by one, course after course, and lecture after lecture, and conversation after conversation, I’m invited to open a door.

lastbattleIt opens….and then I’m stunned to realize that a bigger world is within my small world. It reminds me of C.S. Lewis’ Last Battle, one of my favourite books.

“Yes,” said Queen Lucy. “In our world too, a stable once had something inside it that was bigger than our whole world.”

“All their life in this world and all their adventures in Narnia had only been the cover and the title page: now at last they were beginning Chapter One of the Great Story which no one on earth has read: which goes on for ever: in which every chapter is better than the one before.”

The Lit Review 'doors' are ready to be opened.

The Lit Review ‘doors’ are ready to be opened.

As I start to tackle the unknown territory of my first “major research paper” I gaze at my current literature review selections and recognize that each piece is yet another door.

The learning adventure begins…and may never end.

Grateful for:

  • Dawn who helps me ‘focus’ my research thoughts to a singular point of precision

    The MRP focus

    The MRP focus

  • Paula who wants her students to have excellence in less than excellent circumstances
  • Wesley who insists on doing things the right way when it is so tempting to take shortcuts
  • Benji who reminds me that pets are good for families
  • Stan who offers students life-learning in robotics
  • Vanessa who helps me learn how struggling readers can master a few key skills

Curious about:

  • How to develop teacher-leaders and how to practically imbed their skills during our upcoming April 15th PD day
  • How to find an MRP supervisor
  • How will @frc2056 fare today at the Waterloo Regional Robotics competition happening right now at watchfirstnow.com

 

 


Leave a comment

Categories