Posted by: bwoof | April 24, 2016

Quoteable Quote from Parker Palmer

cbcCBC is a terrific way to learn about the world. I shall not ever forget the many hours I spent as a young mom, immersed in both the world of babies and toddlers, and also simultaneously invited into a grown-up world of arts and sciences and thoughtful inquiry via public radio.  I listened then, and still do, to many shows, not the least of which was Morningside with Peter Gzowski.

Today was no exception, only this time I was in the car and happened to hear an interview with Parker Palmer, who caught my attention with a couple of quotes which I shall now try to remember.  But first, all about Parker from the Centre for Courage & Renewal.

ParkerPalmerBooks“Parker J. Palmer, founder and Senior Partner of the Center for Courage & Renewal, is a world-renowned writer, speaker and activist who focuses on issues in education, community, leadership, spirituality and social change. He has reached millions worldwide through his nine books, including Let Your Life Speak, The Courage to Teach, A Hidden Wholeness, and Healing the Heart of Democracy.

Parker holds a Ph.D. in sociology from the University of California at Berkeley, as well as eleven honorary doctorates, two Distinguished Achievement Awards from the National Educational Press Association, and an Award of Excellence from the Associated Church Press. In 2010, Palmer was given the William Rainey Harper Award whose previous recipients include Margaret Mead, Elie Wiesel, and Paolo Freire. In 2011, he was named an Utne Reader Visionary, one of “25 people who are changing your world.”

On CBC he was attempting to explain the ‘trump-ism’ phenomena now going on in US politics. His wise words included:

“Conflict is not the enemy of social order; conflict is the engine for a better social order.”

It has me thinking…how might I engage with others, even those with whom I perceive to be agents of conflict, and find ways to leverage their thoughts and values for the purpose of betterment?

That’s a lot to think about, but in true CBC style that I’ve known for years, the capacity to expand my thinking past myself is a true gift. I look forward to engaging in conflict…the beautiful kind.

Grateful for:

  • Stone Mill Inn and all the lovely people there who will help an upcoming wedding day be spectacular
  • My Masters cohort and others who help me understand research just a wee wee weeeeeee……little bit.  Frankly, I had NO idea about this research world.
  • Westjet and the flights to Abbotsford
  • Parker and the new learning I will have once I explore his site and his writings
  • and, of course, CBC!

Curious about:

  • CPS and how it will help a certain student
  • First Robotics and how the upcoming world robotics competitions will unfold
  • Staffing in a large school board — details, reactions, change quotient, resiliency, chatter, natter, and next steps
Leave a Reply

Categories

