Posted by: bwoof | September 5, 2015

The little boy on the beach….

This week’s news is full of stories prompted by the sad, oh so sad, picture of a precious little boy who perished while his brave Syrian parents were attempting to take him to a better life.

I can’t pretend to understand all the complexities that led up to this story, nor the blame and shame that now abounds as people worldwide vainly attempt to assign culpability. There is no ONE repository of evil.

As Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn said,

If only it were all so simple! If only there were evil people somewhere insidiously committing evil deeds, and it were necessary only to separate them from the rest of us and destroy them. But the line dividing good and evil cuts through the heart of every human being. And who is willing to destroy a piece of his own heart?”The Gulag Archipelago 1918-1956

My own heart is no exception!

On a go forward basis my personal response has to include the following:

  1. Take some tips from the spirit of the 10 Commandments of Genocide Education. These are humbling yet instructive prompts.

  2. Affirm the ‘saints’ in my life who faithfully and without any fanfare or public adoration daily and faithfully serve others. I think of Deb at Drummond House and Wes at Rescue and Restored, for example. They are saving people who are in their own personal ‘Syria’ crises. As the Commandments state, I shall not compare one person’s pain with another.
  3. I shall consider my personal comfort zone and ask hard questions. Would I, for instance, be willing to share my two free bedrooms and recently renovated bathroom with a Syrian family? Would I actually find the $30K to help sponsor a family? Or should I simply protest and demand that the Canadian government sponsor more people?

My heart struggles….I like my personal peace and comfort. The ‘dividing line’ of which Solzhenitsyn wrote is within me. ME!

Grateful for:

  • Canada and the relative peace which this country affords
  • Canada and the opportunity to participate in a federal election. I am thankful for Steven Harper and Justin Trudeau and Thomas Mulcair and Elizabeth May (and others) all of whom have something to offer re the crisis, none of whom have a solution wrapped up in a pretty box. The problems and the solutions are, in my opinion, non-partisan. We must bond together.
  • Canada and freedom of the press which now allows me many (!!) different voices to consider in the current refugee crises.

Curious about:

  • Would I ever be courageous enough to radically adjust MY own lifestyle to then be in a position to support a refugee family?
  • What role does government play? What role do private citizens play?
  • What might this school year look like as I interact with young people who, although not in Syria, are emotional refugees right here in the city.
Responses

  1. […] The little boy on the beach…. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

