Posted by: bwoof | March 29, 2015

A skin lesson

By personal invitation, I found myself in the most interesting of Cosmetology classes.

The students had spent the previous week researching the many layers of skin, both the descriptive definitions and functional features. Then in small groups they extended their learning by exploring how various skin conditions such as acne, hives, eczema, and chicken pox behave in those layers. Fascinating!

imageTo illustrate their understanding (and believe me, they had learned a lot!) they created 3-D models of skin and their chosen disease or ailment. Finally, each group presented their findings in visual form to the class.

Overheard…

“It’s really hard to remember all the words when the teacher just talks, but when she let’s us explore I remember it all.”

“I didn’t realize how complex the skin is…and how much I now know about it.”

“I love learning this way.”

To the right is an example of what I saw. Note that the models included some commonly found ingredients such as marshmallows, sprinkles, Jello, licorice and food colouring. Creative!

Grateful for:

  • Paula who worked really hard to shift her teaching so that students could stretch their learning. The idea for 3-D skin projects came after she started with the end-in-mind and preferenced curiosity and experiential learning over head-knowledge. And it worked!
  • the Shouldice Hospital where I learned today that special people (mine included) get special treatment for hernia repairs and recover more quickly than any other place in the world.

Curious about:

  • How our PLT will go tomorrow and how the faciliated learning my colleague and I have set up will work. We are taking a few risks but think that’s not only OK but necessary
  • How did my dog do such a good job predicting the Final Four? He’s got a great average and correctly selected 3/4 including Michigan State, Kentucky and Duke.  Yup…border collies are smart and when I asked him to wag his tail ‘yea’ or ‘nay’ while I was filling out my bracket he seemed to have an astute understanding of basketball and stats. That’s why I listened to him and am now pretty close to the top of my competive bracket (not enough, sadly, to get the $1 000 000 000 from Warren Buffet for a perfect bracket — my dog is not that smart)
Leave a Reply

Categories

