Posted by: bwoof | March 7, 2015

I’ll miss you, Surge

SURGE - photo by Ryan Laird Iverson. Available at http://falcons.hamiltonnature.org/

SURGE – photo by Ryan Laird Iverson. Available at http://falcons.hamiltonnature.org/

It’s no secret that I am inspired by the Peregrine Falcons who have chosen my home town as their comeback-from-endangered-species location. This PLog bears their namesake.

Since 2007 I have observed Surge, the male part of the Madame X duo and father of 22 fledglings whom I have watched through my binos, usually around 6 a.m. in the morning. Ah…do I have stories!   My local newspaper says he died of a broken heart and you can read the story here.

Sadly, this week Surge passed away at age 13. My local newspaper says he died of a broken heart and you can read the story here.

I learned to find him way up high, white breast glowing in a rising sun’s rays, watching over the nest-ledge he shared in fidelity with his mate. He sometimes would disappear for hours then come back with a pigeon, or blue jay, or other hapless feathered friend who soon became breakfast or dinner for his young.  The top-east corner of the Standard Life building will never be the same — no more Surge bursts of feathers flying up and over the edge.

On other occasions I’d spot him on the Stelco Tower, usually on a corner inset standing upright and proud as if to say “I dare you to find me but if you do, we’ve got a bond forever.”  Indeed…I am bonded.

SURGE - photo from the Hamilton Spectator

SURGE – photo from the Hamilton Spectator

Thank you Surge for teaching me to be patient and quiet…and to love getting up at 5 a.m. and waiting for dawn to arise so that I could see your silhouette reminding me that stillness matters…and to be amazed at your flights and teaching skills. Your little ones learned to take risks and play while you demonstrated aerial tricks.  I remember when you deliberately wouldn’t bring food to their nest ledge and would drop treats on a nearby rooftop, teasing them to grow up and move out.  As the photo to the left proves, you were a caring dad.

I learned from you every day.

Grateful for:

  • The Hamilton Naturalists Club whose members are incredible teachers and inspire me to notice the little things in life…things that fly, for example
  • Binoculars — who knew that there are so many kinds.

Curious about:

  • Will a new Peregrine pair occupy the nest ledge this year?
  • What will happen to Madame X? Last year her eggs didn’t hatch. Is she too old? Will she miss Surge? Will a new male come?

 

 

Responses

  1. […] friends in Hamilton have determined that Madame X (mate of the aforementioned and now deceased Surge) has been ousted by a new girl in town, Lily…and she is hanging out with Ossie, the new boy […]

  2. […] still sad that Surge won’t be the centre of my binoculars […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

