Posted by: bwoof | February 18, 2015

The ‘explosive child’ and ‘lost at school’

Today our Professional Learning Session with administrators featured the work of Ross Greene and others. It’s called Collaborative Problem-Solving (CPS) and it’s worth a revisit of the books I appreciated about three years ago.

FalconPLog

In recent days it’s become clear to me that school[ing] is terribly unkind for some kids. For reasons far beyond my current understanding, school[ing] is the worst convergence of frustration, anxiety, and fear for some teens. And in that vortex of all things gone wrong, some young learners express themselves in the most outrageous, explosive, profane, disruptive, destructive, defiant, and toxic ways.

It makes me wonder….

What’s an appropriate response? To whom might I turn? What possibly could I do? How do I reconcile my instrinsic belief that all of us want to learn and be successful with the ocular evidence that some kids just don’t want to do any of that.

Enter Ross Greene…a man I’ve come to appreciate via his books, The Explosive Childand Lost at SchoolHe also has some most helpful videos and all you need to do is head to YouTube and type…

View original post 44 more words

Leave a Reply

Categories

