Posted by: bwoof | February 14, 2015

50 shades of grey = black & white

I’m going to break my own rules right now. I’m going to write about and make editorial comment about something I have never seen or plan to see, never read or plan to read.

The movie 50 Shades of Grey came out this weekend, a curious alignment with Valentines Day. It’s the screen version of the now famous book that (from my distant perch as an observer of people) seems eerily familiar to my-once-upon-a-time-fav-CBC-Q-host-Jian. Call me an ill-informed and judgemental prude–in this situation I am guilty as charged.

I’m going to break another of my own rules.  This time I offer a link to a writer about whom I know nothing…nothing at all.  I can’t verify the author’s credentials but what is written makes sense.

So…to track with my rule-breaking trend, read this:

http://www.megmeekermd.com/2015/02/a-psychiatrists-letter-to-young-people-about-fifty-shades-of-grey/

A long time ago someone told me “You don’t need to swim in the sewer to know that it smells.” Therefore, I shall not be going to the movies to see Christian do whatever it is that he does.  It smells bad!

50 Shades of Grey is not grey at all — it’s black and white to me.

Grateful for:

  • having Valentines Day every day with the love of my life
  • Chris, Judy, Mike and Mandy who so eloquently shared their classroom stories and their learnings, all of which profoundly help students learn. Wow!

Curious about:

  • how did our Friday PD day help teachers gain curiosity, confidence and collegiality as professional educators    #OPlearnFeb13
  • how I might further develop my own inquiry stance

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

