Posted by: bwoof | January 2, 2010

BPD and dialectic therapy

In the past I’ve had reason to learn about Borderline Personality Disorder (BPD), a notoriously difficult to treat psychiatric condition according to the DSM-IV. Based on observations of two people I know who ‘may’ have this condition, I would have to agree with the pundits. Difficult indeed!

In both cases a certain kind of treatment, Dialectical Behaviour Therapy (DBT) has been recommended and in one situation tried but with limited long-term net effect, or so I’ve been led to believe.

What I’m learning about BPT and DBT is too extensive to document here and all I can suggest is that interested folks google or follow the links above to get more info.

Grateful for:

  • Greg and Bev and “games night”
  • K’s friends from high school
  • Jon and Jon and Avatar
  • finding the black paper for the photo show
  • brunch with the family today
  • Pam and Chrissy’s visit

Curious about:

  • DBT therapy and will it help a young woman I know? Is there hope?
  • how to determine whether or not to be angry with someone with mental illness who ‘should’ be taking more responsibility, or should I just accept it as part of a disease and, therefore, assign no culpability? And, who I am I to judge anyway?
Leave a Reply

Categories

