Posted by: bwoof | December 3, 2009

Samosas and white rice

We had a staff meeting followed by a staff dinner to celebrate the holidays. So, at my table were several teachers, one of whom claimed to know quite a bit about cooking foods from India and the Middle East. It all started when we were trying to brainstorm activities that we could do in the evening to open up the school as a community centre. We have many students and families who can’t afford to go out for entertainment, so something free and fun and close by might be a good thing for us to do, cooking classes for example.

I mentioned that there are certain foods that I’d love to learn to cook. Samosas, for example. A teacher at my table then explained that I don’t need classes if only I would follow his directions. So, this is what I learned, and I hope I have it in the right order.

1. Go to the middle eastern grocery store  (uh oh!  Where’s that?)

2. Get some samosa things…don’t know if they are called shells or forms or whatever (uh oh! What do they look like?)

3. Get some vegetables…cauliflower, carrots, onions and so forth (OK, this part I know how to do)

4. Go home and boil the veggies and make them almost like mashed potatoes (Hmmm…..I think I can do that)

5. Cut the mash into squares and place a square on the samosa thingy

6. Make a sticky paste with flour and water

7. Roll the samosa thingy around the square mass of mash and glue it all together with the paste

8. And then….I think maybe you’re supposed to fry it, then eat it.

And if that’s not enough of a recipe, then try this one for rice, not just white rice, but the whitest white rice.

Make sure you have a big pot and use only par-broiled rice. Don’t cook it too long lest it get mushy and be sure to put in lime juice. This is the magic ingredient!!  What a surprise this was to me, but I’m assured it will make the best rice. The butter a large platter and turn out the fluffy rice onto the platter.

Grateful for:

  • the teen who attended all classes today and ‘earned’ caf bucks in exchange
  • our liaison officer who understands teens

Curious about:

  • how does dry cleaning work and why does my jacket still have a stain?
Leave a Reply

Categories

