Posted by: bwoof | September 9, 2009

Space Power and Solar Art

Space solar power

Today a teacher, during a spontaneous conversation at the photocopier,  helped me learn about a really ‘out-there’ potential for green and waste-free energy source. Later, I found a Toronto Star article that explains the possibilities. It blows my mind to think that someday we might be able to harness the sun’s energy in ways that sci-fi couldn’t even imagine.

Even more intersting to me is that fact that solar energy is already blessing my spirit. While virtually browsing the UBC campus, again on Google Earth (where my daughter is a student) I ‘saw’ something called an art installation, a type of wind tower on the campus of Regent College, one of the academic affiliates.

Surprise to me…but I learned that works of art can also be environmentally friendly and inspiring. This wind tower, created by glass artist Sarah Hall, features distinct photovoltaic glass pieces, angled trusses, and an organic off-grid design that literally captures solar energy during the day so that it can be beautifully illuminated at night. Stunning!

Grateful for:

  • extra help in the guidance office
  • someone else taking the IT consultant job and I just get to watch
  • fall mums…yellow and orange

Curious about:

  • installers and Windows service packs and why they don’t always work well, especially in school boards
  • Obama’s education speech from yesterday
  • places that will support pregnant teens who really need to belong somewhere
Responses

  1. “installers and Windows service packs and why they don’t always work well, especially in school boards”

    …me too, Beth…me, too. *sigh

    Your love of learning is always inspirational. Your staff and students are lucky to have you 🙂

    “I learned that works of art can also be environmentally friendly and inspiring.”

    Have you seen the art at Royal Botanical Gardens – created from and out of nature. Very lovely.

    Like this one……
    http://www.rbg.ca/pages/Ikeda.html


Leave a Reply

Categories

